The WVSA will join with other organizations to sponsor the 2018 West Virginia Law Enforcement Officers Memorial to be held in the Grand Hall of the Culture Center at the State Capitol in Charleston, WV.  The date of the event has not been set

Surviving families and officers will participate in a laying of a memorial wreath at the State Memorial Statue on the patio of the WV Cultural Center will follow the ceremony.



In addition to other WV law enforcement officers that have paid the supreme sacrifice for their citizens, the following is a listing of all sheriffs, deputies and constables who have died in the line of duty.

1906       Deputy Andrew Beavers                  McDowell County
1917       Deputy Sheriff Jesse R. Browning     Boone County
1920       Deputy John Morton                        Webster County
1922       Sheriff Harding Duval                      Brooke County
1931       Deputy Joseph Myles                       Greenbrier County
1931       Deputy Claude Cyrus Hamilton         Nicholas County
1933       Deputy Roy L. Shamblin                  Kanawha County
1934       Deputy Leamon Martin                    Raleigh County
1937       Constable Cecil Alvin Ferrell             Boone County
1938       Deputy Jess Thompson                    Raleigh County
1946       Sheriff Gay Hovatter                       Tucker County
1949       Deputy Travis French                      McDowell County
1950       Deputy Joseph A. Tiano                   Harrison County
1950       Deputy William Dotson                    Mercer County
1951       Deputy Lego Sheppard                    Greenbrier County
1975       Deputy Roger Treadway                  Fayette County
1975       Deputy Jesse Blevens                      Monroe County
1976       Sheriff Park Richards                       Calhoun County
1976       Chief Deputy Ernest Hesson             Mason County
1976       Deputy Kenneth Love                      Mason County
1976       Sheriff Elvin Wedge                         Mason County
1977       Deputy George Maynard                  McDowell County
1981       Sheriff Vincent Zummo                    Braxton County
1989       Deputy John Janey                          Putnam County
2000       Deputy William G. “Bill” Giacomo      Nicholas County
2001       Deputy John Burkett III                   Berkeley County
2007       Corporal Justin Alan Thompson         Lincoln County
2012       Sheriff Eugene Crum                   Mingo County                                                                                                                                                  2012       Sergeant Michael Todd May           Monongalia County